Nashvegan

A not-very-definitive guide to eating (and living) as a vegan in Nashville.

Cafe Coco January 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Nashvegan @ 11:31 am
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Hummus Plate and Chips & Salsa

What could be better than an independently owned neighborhood cafe that is open 24 hours a day with clearly marked vegan menu options and raw vegan chocolate cake in the cooler?  Nothing, that’s what.  Cafe Coco is one of my all-time favorite restaurants in Nashville and I’m really surprised that I haven’t featured it yet.  There is nothing not to love about this place, from the decor featuring local artists to the friendly vibe to the helpful staff to the fabulous food.  The patio is amazing when the weather is nice (which it wasn’t on this visit).  If you haven’t been there yet, go right now.  Don’t even finish reading this post, just go.  You can thank me later.

Pictured above are the appetizers of champions: hummus plate and chips & salsa.  Cafe Coco has my favorite salsa in the city, hands down.  It is so good.  If you’re thinking about getting a side of it with your meal, stop.  You need more salsa than that.  Get the appetizer so your salsa needs can be fully met.  The hummus is nothing to sneeze at though I could hardly say it’s the best in town.  Still, it’s really thick and the plates shown above can make a substantial meal by themselves–but why stop there?

Three Bean Vegan Chili and Raw Vegan Chocolate Cake

It seems that Cafe Coco’s “soup of the day” is always Three Bean Vegan Chili … but I’m not complaining!  This stuff is good.  It is just spicy enough to warm you up when it’s cold without being so spicy that you don’t want to eat it.  I recognize kidney beans and black beans, not really sure what the third bean is but I don’t really care because it’s delicious.  It is a little more watery than I like my chili, but for whatever reason it works.  I recommend crumbling up those multi-grain crackers and adding them directly to the chili for maximum chili enjoyment.

The cake is a new addition.  Cafe Coco has long had tempting-looking (dairy-laden) desserts in a cooler case near the register.  Imagine my surprise to peer into this case and view RAW VEGAN CAKE.  I wish I had written down the name of the woman who makes the desserts, but I didn’t, so if you go there check on that for me and let me know what it is so I can update this post.  I was speaking with my cashier about the addition of vegan cake and she told me the dessert woman recently took a raw foods cooking class and is now really into making raw desserts.  Kudos to her because this cake is A-MAZ-ING.  It was so rich I almost couldn’t eat it (note I said “almost.”)  It took a couple days to eat the whole slice.  The next time you’re there, grab a slice.  Don’t think about it, just do it.

If you haven’t been to Cafe Coco before you’re missing out.  In addition to the above foods, I also really like “The Skinny” which is a hummus and vegetable wrap–just omit the cheese and pesto.  Plus, it’s open 24 hours a day!  And there’s free delivery at lunch time!  WOW!

Cafe Coco

210 Louise Avenue

Nashville, TN 37203

615.321.2626

Website

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

5 Responses to “Cafe Coco”

  1. Lacey Says:

    oh. my. god.
    they have raw vegan cake at cafe coco now?!?!
    I wonder if the cake is made by the Journey-To-Bliss chick…hrmmmm.

    • Nashvegan Says:

      I can’t recall who makes the cake there, but your mission (should you choose to accept it) is to go down there and buy some cake and report back with your findings.

  2. TravelingVeg Says:

    I believe it’s Coco who makes the desserts. I’m hoping she’ll put more vegan things on the menu. For all they do have, I’ve had the chili and hummus so many times… Would love a vegan veggie burger!

  3. Adam Says:

    The crackers served with the black bean chili are not vegan. They use egg whites to lay the seeds on top.


Leave a Reply

