Nashvegan

A not-very-definitive guide to eating (and living) as a vegan in Nashville.

FiddleCakes October 30, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Nashvegan @ 1:19 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,
FiddleCakes - Baked Goods

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookie & Chewy Oatmeal, Fruit and Nut Bar

When I read that someone in Nashville went and opened up a vegan-friendly bakery, I almost peed myself with excitement.  I went that very same day to see what they had.  Dreams of fluffy vegan cupcakes danced in my head.  Imagine my disappointment when there were no vegan cupcakes to be found.  There were only two vegan baked goods in the case, and I bought both of them, but more on them in a minute.

FiddleCakes is in the middle of that awesome part of 8th Ave. that’s home to thrift and vintage stores and my beloved Grimey’s.  I was worried I was going to miss it while driving there, but they have a huge pistachio-colored sign.  The interior of this place is simply adorable.  There’s a ton of SPACE for sitting and chatting with your friends over coffee, or working towards a deadline with vegan cookies their free WiFi.  The bakery case is front and center, and there’s also a cooler full of sandwiches.  This is their soft opening, and they’ll be having a grand opening sometime in November–don’t worry, I’ll let you know when.

On my visit to FiddleCakes, I was the only one in the place, but the proprietress informed me that the place is quite busy around lunch time.  The vegan soup of the day was Mushroom Barley, but I did not partake–I was there for baked goods.  I also scoped the sandwich selection and saw a Curried Tofu sandwich that would probably be delish.  As mentioned above, I grabbed the two vegan treats available that day: a chewy bar and a soft cookie.  The bar was chewy as promised, and flavorful.  But the cookie completely blew me away!  It was awesome!  And just in time for Halloween!  Look how many exclamation points I’m using!

Bottom line: head down to FiddleCakes.  Do it now.  Right this second.  Get a cookie.  I’m serious.

 

FiddleCakes

2206 8th Avenue South

Nashville, TN 37204

615.457.2127

Website

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

Leave a Reply

