Nashvegan

A not-very-definitive guide to eating (and living) as a vegan in Nashville.

Burger Up – UPDATED July 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Nashvegan @ 5:13 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Marathon Burger and Heirloom Tomato Salad

There used to be a review here.  Now there’s not.  The Marathon Burger is not vegan. It’s not even vegetarian. The patty contains the house ketchup that is made with Worcestershire sauce, which contains anchovy paste. I have been informed by multiple servers that this patty was vegan. I can’t even tell you how disappointed I am to hear this, and how upset I am that after multiple inquiries I was assured that the patty was vegan. I will not be returning to Burger Up and I suggest you don’t either. A special thank you to my friend Lacey for discovering this fact after my emails to Burger Up went unanswered.  If you have dined at Burger Up, like me, and have been misled, like me, I encourage you to contact them about your experience.  Their information is below.

Burger Up

2901 12th Avenue South

Nashville, TN 37204

615.279.3767

Website

UPDATE: As of December 2012, the Marathon patty is completely vegan.  The house ketchup, however, is not, so keep that in mind when thinking about dipping your fries.  Thanks everyone for contacting Burger Up with your concerns.  Community action, it’s super effective!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

 

7 Responses to “Burger Up – UPDATED”

  1. Laura Says:

    Yay! Glad you’re back. I have always liked your honest reviews. They are spot-on. :)

  2. A. Baines Says:

    Will have to check out. And yes, I certainly missed you. glad you’re back.

  3. Kristy Says:

    FYI I have been told in the past that the buns are not vegan. Maybe that has changed but when I ask they said they weren’t so I always get the marathon on a salad. Still really yummy!!

    • Nashvegan Says:

      Hi Kristy,

      I’ve heard that, too, but when I asked about it they said that they were fine. I know from experience that I can go to the same restaurant multiple times and get different answers from servers about whether or not something is vegan. I’ll try to look into this further.

  4. Lesley Eats Says:

    You’re back! I need to catch up! Anyhoo, Lacey just found out that the Marathon burger (and the ketchup) has Worcestershire sauce! Not vegan and not even vegetarian. Did you ask and they confirmed that the burger is veg*n, too? I am not pleased.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers